Inauguration of the Students’ Council 2019

The inauguration of the Students’ Council 2019-20 of St Aloysius College (Autonomous) was held on 26th June 2019 in LCRI Block of the College. Prof. P.S. Yadapadithaya, Hon’ble Vice-Chancellor of Mangalore Univeristy was the Chief Guest and inaugurated the Students’ Council.

Rev. Fr Dionysius Vaz, SJ, Rector of St Aloysius Institutions presided over the programme. Rev. Dr Praveen Martis, SJ, Principal, Dr A.M. Narahari, Registrar, Dr Alwyn D’Sa, Controller of Examinations, and the President, Vice-president, Secretary, Joint Secretary, Cultural Secretary and Sport Secretary of Students’ Council were present on the dais.

Prof. P.S. Yadapadithaya in his address said that serving as a President of Students’ Council in a college is a privilege and honor. He said that the fellow-mates have chosen him by recognizing his leadership skills and potential to manage the Council effectively. It is the President’s responsibility to guide the members toward reaching the Council goals. He also quoted M D Arnold’s words - “A Good Leader leads the people from above them. A great leader leads the people from within them”. He also suggested the students to follow the 5 D’s, namely- Destination, Direction, Discipline, Dedication, and Devotion. He encouraged the students to acquire more knowledge and practical ideas to create a better India. He urged the students to respect their parents and mentors.

Rev. Dr Praveen Martis, SJ administered the oath to Students’ Council leader Lloyd Vineeth Sequeira, and he then administered the Oath to the rest of his Council members. The Student Council President, Lloyd Vineeth Sequeira gave the glimpses of the activities of the academic year 2019-20. Secretary, Varun Neelesh Singla briefed on the “One Coin Revolution’ initiated by the Students’ Council.

The elected members of Students’ Council for the academic year 2018-19 are: Lloyd Vineeth Sequeira, III B.Sc., President of Students’ Council, Rupal D’Souza, III B.Sc.., Vice-president, Varun Neelesh Singala, II B.Sc., Secretary and Lelnitha Twinkle Correa, II B.A., Joint Secretary. Dilton Ashwin Mascarenhas, III B.Sc. as Cultural Secretary and Mohammed Rumaiz as Sports Secretary.

During the programme, Prof. P.S. Yadapadithaya was honoured for his creditable achievements.

Addressing the students, Rev. Fr Praveen Martis said, “You are all called to be the leaders of St Aloysius College, so celebrate your leadership. You are representing the 6000 plus students of this institution, which should make you proud”. He wished the students council members a successful year, full of activities with great leadership.

Rector, Fr Dionysius Vaz, SJ in his Presidential remarks appreciated the activities initiated by the Students’ Council. He said that life and leadership are two choices. Leadership is not a position, it’s a passion. Be proud of where you come from, and develop the power of empowerment and keep up the character of Jesuit education i.e., pursuit of excellence; respect for the world, critical thinking and effective communication, special concern for the poor, and evoke hope. He suggested the students to develop Logical Thinking, Critical Thinking and Lateral Thinking’. “And remember that once an Aloysian is Always a Aloysian”. He wished the Council a fruitful year.

Dr Ratan Tilak Mohunta, Director of the Students’ Council welcomed the gathering. Manoj Dyson Fernandes, Lecturer, BBA, compered the programme. Rupal D’Souza proposed the vote of thanks.